My favourite meal – ever!

I thought a good place to start this blog would be to share my favourite healthy meal with you. It’s literally just a few bits I threw together one night after work, I had intended to serve it with sweet chilli sauce but it was just so delicious I couldn’t improve it at all!

Tempura Tofu

The meal consists of the following ingredients –

  • A handful of fresh kale
  • Some fresh okra
  • A handful of cubed butternut squash
  • Broccoli
  • Diced tofu
  • White rice
  • Garlic salt
  • Tempura batter

I doubt if I need to tell anyone how to cook rice….. so…….cook the rice (I use sushi rice because I like the texture). For the rest I started by dipping the diced tofu into tempura batter and deep frying in vegetable oil for about 4-5 minutes (the oil has to be super hot before you put it in, else it all goes yucky). While the tofu is cooking, grab your wok (on a high heat) and a couple teaspoons of coconut oil, chuck in the squash, broccoli, okra, kale and some garlic salt. Keep the veggies moving as you cook them, they only need a couple minutes – no one likes soggy veg! Once the tofu is nicely browned, take it out of the fryer and drain it. While that’s draining, plop the rice on the plate, followed by the veggies, topped off with the sexy tofu and another sprinkle of garlic salt 🙂

OK it may not be the healthiest meal in the entire world but it’s pretty damn tasty and a hell of a lot better than a takeaway!

Healthiness-

  • Kale – one of the most nutrient dense foods (there are too many good things about it to list here!)
  • Okra – packed with vitamins, minerals, anti-oxidants and dietary fibre
  • Broccoli – Anti-oxidants, helps to boost your immune system
  • Squash – carbohydrates and protein
  • Tofu – protein, iron and calcium (also naturally gluten free)

I’m sure there are many variations of this dish, let me know if you try it!

*****Disclaimer – I know deep fried stuff isn’t the most healthy thing to eat, but in as an occasional treat it’s OK – I’m also slightly addicted to tempura so that’s good enough justification for me!*******

Leave a Reply

